Logo of the Technical University of Crete
Technical University of Crete on Facebook  Technical University of Crete on Instagram  Technical University of Crete on Twitter  Technical University of Crete on YouTube   Technical University of Crete on Linkedin

Single News - DO NOT DELETE

ECE School awards the title of Honorary Professor upon Dr. Nikolaos Bourbakis

Prof. N. Bourbakis

In recognition of his contributions to the fields of Computer Science and in particular to the field of Artificial Intelligence.

Laudation for Prof. Bourbakis, by M. Zervakis, Vice-Rector

Prof. Athanasios Liavas, presented the resolution of the Assembly and awarded the title

Vice-Recotr M. Lagoudakis

"Artificial Intelligence + Smart Cities" Talk

Members of the ECE School

On the 27th of August, 2021, the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering of the Technical University of Crete conferred upon Dr. Nikolaos Bourbakis, the title of Honorary Professor, given under the Seal of the Technical University of Crete, "in recognition of his contributions to the fields of Computer Science and in particular to the field of Artificial Intelligence".

The ceremony was held in a public session of the Assembly of the School of ECE, during which the Vice-Rector of Research and Lifelong Learning, ECE Prof. Michael Zervakis, gave an introduction and laudation for Prof. Bourbakis, while the Dean of the ECE School Prof. Athanasios Liavas, presented the resolution of the Assembly and awarded the title of Honorary Professor to Prof. Bourbakis. 

In the context of the ceremony Prof. Bourbakis, delivered his speech entitled "Articifial Intelligence+Smart Cities".

Short Curiculum Vitae of Dr. Nikolaos Bourbakis (IEEE Life Fellow and AAIA Fellow)
He has received his BSc degree on Mathematics from the National Kapodistrian University of Athens and his Doctoral degree in Computer Engineering & Informatics, University of Patras, Greece. He currently is an Ohio Board of Regents Distinguished Professor in Information Technology, CSE Dept., Professor (j.a.) of Geriatrics School of Medicine and the Director of the Center of Assistive Research Technologies (CART) at Wright State University (WSU), Dayton, OH. Previous Administrative Positions: a) Associate Director Center Intelligent Systems (SUNY-B); b) Director of the ITRI Institute at WSU and c) Associate Dean for Research, Engineering College (WSU). He has conducted research in Artificial Intelligence (Projects: SE-Expert System, Hermes-Vision Architecture, Kydon-Image Recognition Architecture, BOUMER Learning Scheme, DIAS Architecture, Handwritten OCR-Words, Glossa-NL Text Understanding, Technical Document Deep Understanding, SKD Body Activity Recognition); Cyber Security (Projects: SCAN, AMYNA); and Bioengineering & Assistive Robotic Technologies (Projects: Tyflos-Wearable Device for Assisting Blind for Navigation, Reading and Recognition, SPN-Brain Analysis for Recognition, Wireless Capsule Endoscopy, Ultrasound Imaging-Liver-Heart, Nosokoma & Prognosis for Assistive Living, Hybrid Intelligence). His research was funded ($17M) by government agencies (NSF, AFRL, ONR, ARL, DARPA, etc.) and industry. He has published 470 articles in refereed IEEE/ International Journals, book-chapters and Conference Proceedings, 11 books and numerous professional technical reports related to research projects. He has advised and graduated 31 PhDs and 41 Master students. He is the Founder and the EIC of three International Journals Artificial Intelligence Tools (WS Pub. 1991-2021); Monitoring & Surveillance Tech Research (IGIGlobal Pub. 2013-2019); and EAI-Transactions on Bioengineering & Bioinformatics (EAI Publishers, 2019 - present). He was/is the Editor in Charge of a Research Series of Books in Artificial Intelligence (WS Publisher, 1993-2001); the Founder and General Chair of three International IEEE Computer Society Conferences (i) Tools with Artificial Intelligence, (ii) Bioinformatics & Bioengineering, (iii) Information-Intelligence-Systems & Applications, numerous Symposia and Workshops (Hybrid Intelligence); the Associate Editor (12) in numerous IEEE and International Journals; and a Guest Editor in 25 special issues in IEEE and International Journals. He is/was a Distinguished IEEE Computer Society Speaker; an NSF University Research Programs Evaluator; an IEEE Computer Society Golden Core Member; the Founder & President of the Biological & Artificial Intelligence Society-Foundation (BAIF); an External Evaluator in University Promotion Committees; a Member of ABET Committees for accreditation of Computer Sciences & Engineering Programs; an Official Nominator of the National Academy of Achievements for Computer Science Programs; and a Keynote Speaker in numerous International/IEEE Conferences. His research work has been internationally recognized and has won several prestigious awards. Some of them are: IBM Author recognition Award 1991; IEEE Computer Society Outstanding Contribution Award 1992; Member of the New York Academy of Sciences (1993 -); IEEE Outstanding Paper Award AutoTestCon 1994; IEEE Fellow (1996); IEEE Computer Society Technical Research Achievement Award 1998; IEEE I&S Outstanding Leadership Award 1998; IEEE ICTAI 10 years Research Contribution Award 1999; Pattern Recognition Society Journal best papers selection for 1999; IEEE Symposium on BIBE Outstanding Leadership Award, 2003; ASC Outstanding Scientists & Engineers Research Award-2005; SETN Research Recognition- 2006; Diploma of Honor and Recognition in AI, University of Patras, Greece 2007; IEEE Appreciation Award for organizing ICTAI-08, Dayton OH, 2008; IEEE Computer Society Appreciation Award as the BIBE Steering Chair 2009; Dr. F. Russ IEEE Biomedical Engineering Award, Dayton OH, 2010; Pattern Recognition Society Journal “Most Cited Article for 2006-2010”, and “Honorary mentioned for several years”; IJAIT best papers selection for the years 2006-2010; IEEE BIBE- Keynote Speaker Recognition Award Mobile-health, Taichung, Taiwan, 2011; WSU Outstanding Service Award, 2001-2012; IEEE Int. Conference ICTAI-2012 CV Ramammoorthy Best paper Award, Piraeus, Greece; “In honor and recognition for his outstanding scholarly achievements and contributions in the field of Computer Science”, Dept. of Informatics, University of Piraeus, Greece, July 2013; IEEE EMBS-GR Award of Achievements for his contribution on Assistive Devices for the Blind, IEEE IC-BIBE, Nov 2013, Chania , Greece; IEEE Conference BIBE-2014, Biomedical Engineering Best paper Award FL, USA, Nov. 2014; UNESCOGR Recognition Leadership Award, IEEE Conference IISA, Corfu, Greece, July 2015; IEEE Conference on Tools with AI, CV Ramamoorthy Best paper Award, Vietri sul Mare, Italy Nov. 2015; IEEE Computer Society 28 years ICTAI Outstanding Service & Leadership Recognition, IEEE ICTAI, S. Jose, CA, 2016; IEEE Computer Society Keynote Speaker Recognition Award 2017, Boston MA; IEEE ICTAI-2018, 30 years Leadership Recognition, Volos, Nov 2018, Greece. IEEE ICTAI Conference has honored Dr. Bourbakis for his outstanding contribution for 31 years as the Founder and Steering Committee Chair of the ICTAI series by giving on his name the Best Paper Award (starting November 2019); Honorary Doctoral Degree on Applied Artificial Intelligence from the University of Piraeus, Greece, 2020. IJAIT journal has initiated the “Nikolaos Bourbakis best paper Award” (starting 2021). “A trilogy-book on Artificial Intelligence and Assistive Technologies” Springer Publ. in honor of Dr. Bourbakis (2021). He was selected Fellow of the Asia-Pacific Artificial Intelligence Association, 2021. IEEE ICBIBE has honored Dr. Bourbakis for his outstanding contribution for 21 years as the Founder and Steering Committee Chair of the BIBE series by giving on his name the Best Paper Award (starting October 2021).

© Technical University of Crete 2012